Today in awesome: Moonlight Densetsu

June 21, 2013 at 7:11 pm (Awesome, Random Shit) (, , , )

You know the Sailor Moon opening theme – the tolling of bells, the dramatic opening, the percussion accompanying the appearance of ‘90s anime girl archetypes.

The original Japanese version was about the itchy kind of infatuation. Moonlight is for chance encounters and the happy chills you get seeing the person you love.

Gomen ne sunao ja nakute
Yume no naka nara ieru
Shikou kairo wa shotto sunzen
Ima sugu aitai yo
Nakitaku naru you-na Moonlight
Denwa mo dekinai Midnight
Datte junjou doushiyou
Hatto wa mangekyou

(english translation)

“Sorry if I’m not gentle”
I can say that in my dreams.
My thoughts are about to short circuit.
I want to see you, now isn’t soon enough.
Just about ready to cry, moonlight,
Can’t call, midnight.
Because I’m so naive, what can I do?
My heart is a kaleidoscope!

The version my generation grew up with was the Tagalog rendition, which took a noticeably darker turn. In this version, the light of the moon brings longing, and what joy you can gleam from thinking of someone who may or may not be thinking of you back.

Ikaw ang lagi kong Hinahanap
Kasama kang lagi sa pangarap
Nais ko’y lagi kang nakikita
Marahil nga ay mahal kita

Liwanag ng buwan sa kalawakan
Hinahatid ka sa ‘king isipan
Pano ba kita makakausap
Ikaw sa akin ng lahat

(rough translation)

You are the one I always search for
I’m always with you in my dreams
I always wish to see you
Doubtlessly, I love you

The light of the moon in the sky
Brings you to my mind
How do I talk to you?
To me, you are everything

In the American version of Sailor Moon (which in many ways heralded anime taking over the Western hemisphere) moonlight was for bringing out the superpowers and fighting evil.

With secret powers all so new to her
She is the one named Sailor Moon

Fighting evil by moonlight
Winning love by daylight
With her Sailor Scouts to help fight
She is the one named Sailor Moon

And then there’s ‘Sailor Moon – A Moonlight Serenade’ by Platina Jazz, which riffs off the original Japanese version. The video alone is so far removed from everything Sailor Moon was, but it neatly brings us back to the kind of romance that best shows under moonlight.

Full lyrics follow, because it is awesome.

It’s in my dreams I find the right moment
It is the night that brings me the moonlight
And though I know it’s too late to call you
Your shadow’s always right by my side

Now all the tears I cry are made of sorrow
Reflected pools that will never dry
My eyes will slowly dawn on tomorrow
The truth will speak in the ray of light

Romance and miracles so hard to define
Invited by the moon in your eyes

I can see you there in every moment
As the day it’s so bright and clear
Kaleidescopic turns in my heart that burns
Will show the way through the darkest night

The past remains present in the future
Time seems endless when you are near
Like a ticking clock, the twinkle of the stars
So hard to tell what’s now and here

Romance and miracles so hard to define
Invited by the moon in your eyes

Like the sky begins on the horizon
The vision’s clear but so far away
Like we are stories told, never to behold
Out of touch but it’s always there

Romance and miracles so hard to define
Invited by the moon in your eyes

It’s in my dreams I find the right moment
Time seems endless when you are near
Like we are stories told, never to behold
Out of touch but it’s always there

The vision’s far but it’s always clear
It is the miracles that we share

1 Comment

  1. Today in random shit: Sailor Moon theme song, R&B style | In the Grayworld said,

    […] Sailor Moon theme song (whether in Tagalog, Japanese, English, or Platina Jazz) has a tendency to make the ’90s-minded anime junkie’s blood surge. In a good way. Even […]

Leave a Reply

